The Wuss from the Mists

The day is finally here!  Those of us who have pre-purchased Heart of Thorns can finally get our hands on the new Revenant profession.  All of the videos have looked so cool!  I couldn’t wait to tear into my already-level-eighty hero and take him out for a spin.

Now, I had read and watched many of the hands-on play impressions from bloggers and YouTubers that received a beta portal during the last closed beta, and I remember them all saying how much they wished they could have had access to better gear choices to really get a feel for the profession.  They remarked about how weak the Revenant felt with only Celestial runes on their armor.  I was very pleased, therefore, to find that my own Revenant came fresh out of the box this time with a large selection of armor, weapons, sigils, and rune choices for me to play with.  Surely I would be able to find something that really felt right.

Well, in full disclosure, I haven’t spent a huge amount of time tinkering around with the profession yet, but what I’ve seen so far is both impressive and underwhelming.  On the one hand, I’m very intrigued by the concepts embodied in the Revenant, and all of the new animations and skill effects are certainly cool. But on the other hand, this guy just feels like he hits with weapons made out of feathers held together by wisps of cloud and baby farts.

My own Guardian build slots absolutely no Power, Precision, or Ferocity stats, but he can bring down Veterans in Orr in less than three seconds.  This Revenant – with full Berserker or Rampager gear – feels like he takes at least twenty seconds to drop trash mobs!  I am literally piling on every single trait, utility skill, and elite skill that I can find to boost damage; this dude just doesn’t seem to have the horsepower.

Maybe I’ve got it all wrong.  Maybe this profession isn’t even supposed to have the capacity for decent DPS.  Maybe he was intended as battlefield support only.  Maybe his damage-based specialization and legends have yet to be revealed.  I’ll keep checking it out throughout the weekend, and I’ll update this post as necessary.  But for now, color me confused at how something that looks so cool can be such a wuss.

One thought on “The Wuss from the Mists”

Leave a Reply

